Watford candidates named for county council elections

1:40pm Friday 5th April 2013

By Mike Wright

The six councillors representing Watford at Hertfordshire County Council are set to stand for re-election.

The list of candidates for the May 2 elections were published today revealing the four Liberal Democrats, Labour and Green incumbents will all be seeking another four years at county hall.

The elections will determine who controls Hertfordshire County Council, which gets 74p of every tax pound paid in the county.

The authority, which is currently run by a Conservative administration, controls key services such as schools, roads, streetlights and social services.

As well as the three main parties, the Greens, the UK Independence Party,  the Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts and an independent will all be vying for votes.

The candidates for the six Watford divisions are:


Nascot Park:
Sally Ivines – Green Party
Malcolm Meerabux – Independent
Binita Mehta – Conservative
Steven Palmer – Labour
David Penn – UKIP
Mark Watkin (incumbent) – Liberal Democrat  

Vicarage Holywell:
Bobby Amin – Liberal Democrat
Nigel Bell (incumbent) – Labour
Paula Brodhurst – Green party
Robert Carter – UKIP
David Ealey – Conservative

Central Oxhey:
Stephen Giles-Medhurst (incumbent) – Liberal Democrat
Avril Haley – Labour
Susan Murray – Green Party
Mark O’Connor – Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts
Renie Price - UKIP
Neil Punter - Conservative

Meriden Tudor:
Kareen Hastrick (incumbent) – Liberal Democrat
Diana Ivory – Labour
Nicholas Lincoln – UKIP
Jane West - Conservative
Martin Wiesner –Green Party

Woodside Stanborough:
Philip Cox – UKIP
Omar Ismail  - Labour
Tony Rogers – Conservative
Derek Scudder (incumbent) – Liberal Democrat
Alison Wiesner – Green Party

Callowland Leggatts:
Ian Brandon (incumbent) – Green Party
Anne Joynes – Labour
Suqlain Mahmood – Conservative
Dennis Wharton – Liberal Democrat




© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Watford Observer: Site Logo http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk

Click 2 Find Business Directory http://www.watfordobserver.co.uk/trade_directory/