Flowers filled a village hall on Saturday as the Sarratt Horticultural Society held its annual Spring Show.

The event attracted 399 entries from 63 competitors and the prizes were presented by Three Rivers District Councillor for the area, Tony Barton.

Christine Head was awarded the Dickens Trophy for other flowers and was crowned the show’s overall winner, with joint runners-up being named as Pat Watson and John Rickard.

There was a range of classes, including daffodils, camellias, tulips, houseplants, wallflowers, vegetables, rhubarb and eggs.

John Hopkins, from Chipperfield, was awarded the Pinaroo Trophy for daffodils and Toby Biggerstaff, from Sarratt, won the Roy Ward Cup for vegetables, fruit and produce.

Due to the high number of quality submissions many of the day’s honours were shared between entrants.

Marilyn Butler and Sue Hall shared the Toots Downer Trophy for flower arranging, while the WI Trophy for cookery was given to Sarah Dobson and Sue Perry.

The Brian Luckhaus Plate for arts and crafts was shared by Ginny McNamara, Jennifer Haynes and Joan Horwood.