The battle to be Watford’s elected mayor will be a four-way affair, it has emerged after final candidate list was released.

Following the deadline for nominations, only the four candidates who have already publically declared will be on the ballot paper on May 22.

The current Liberal Democrat mayor, Dororthy Thornhill, will be seeking her fourth term in the top job at Watford town hall next month.

She is being challenged by West Watford Labour councillor, Jagtar Singh Dhinsda, as well as Phil Cox for the UK Independence Party and Conservative, Linda Topping.

The Green Party, which has stood in the last three mayoral elections, is not standing fielding a candidate this time round.