Numbered zones for stations

First published in News

Tube stations in Watford, Croxley Green and Rickmansworth will join the rest of the capital from January, being placed in numbered zones for the first time.

Transport for London has revealed that three new zones, numbered 7, 8 and 9 will replace lettered zones from the beginning of next year.

Watford, Croxley and Rickmansworth currently fall within Zone 6A, which is often not included in travelcards issued from railway stations.

As of January the stations will be in Zone 7, with Watford High Street and Bushey being placed in Zone 8.

Watford Junction, which now operates London Overground services, managed by Transport for London, will remain in an extra zone with special fares applying.

Ticket prices for the other stations will not change under the new zone classifications. Single fares on Oyster cards between Zone 7 and Zone 1 will be £4.50 on weekdays 7am and 7pm and £3 at other times. Fares on London Overground services from Watford Junction to Zones 1-8 will be £6.50 on weekdays 7am and 7pm and £4 at other times.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree