Hornets star first player to retain trophy for 22 years

Smith is Watford's Player of the Season again: Picture: Pippa Douglas

Smith is Watford's Player of the Season again: Picture: Pippa Douglas

First published in Search Module by , Group Sports Editor

Tommy Smith joined a very select band of Hornets greats tonight when he retained his Player of the Season accolade.

Watford’s top scorer not only became the eighth player to lift the prestigious Watford Observer Trophy for a second time, but is just the third – and the first for 22 years – to win it in consecutive seasons.

Tony Coton was the last player to claim the accolade in back-to-back campaigns in 1987, while Wilf Rostron is the only other Vicarage Road star to achieve the feat in the 37-year history of the awards.

Smith was presented with his award at the club’s end-of-season dinner at Shendish Manor, having gained more than 1,300 voting points than runner-up Tamas Priskin.

Fresh from committing his future to the Hornets earlier this week, Lloyd Doyley took third spot, with Scott Loach and Ross Jenkins fourth and fifth respectively.

Watford Observer Trophy: 1, Tommy Smith, 2300 voting points; 2, Tamas Priskin, 984; 3, Lloyd Doyley, 922; 4, Scott Loach, 379; 5, Ross Jenkins, 293; 6, Jack Cork, 190; 7, Jobi McAnuff, 144; 8, Adrian Mariappa, 137.

Visit this site tomorrow for more from Watford’s big night out.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree