The final Chiltern League race was held at Wing and saw the Watford Harriers senior men’s team seal promotion to Division One.

The course, near Aylesbury, posed a muddy challenge for the competitors but that didn’t stop Julian Critchlow finishing fourth and winning the overall V50 category for the season.

Matt Adcock came ninth to give him his second V4 success of the season while Nick Harris finished 28th in running his best race of the season.

Mikk Bradley (49th), Paul Ruttley, Zac McDonough, Simon Pearson, Stewart Dearman and Steve Daniel all contributed to the overall team effort which gained the senior side a place in Division One next season.

The Under-17s men’s race saw Ben Rochford secure the league title for the Harriers after being the fastest Division One runner at Wing while Harvey O’ Brart’s fifth-place finish and Lewis Sills’ eighth gave them third and seventh positions for the season. Their collective effort earned them a team champions’ crown.

In the senior ladies race Liza Croft won the V35 category with a ninth-place finish but just missed out on the overall title. Helen Johal (17th) ended third for the season and Angela Halford came eighth in the standings.

Alison Putko, Nicoleta Economu, Angela Basit and Christine Dearman completed the Watford senior ladies set-up.

Harriers’ Chloe Dearman achieved a bronze finish both in the race and for her season’s efforts in the Under-17s competition.

Tom Rayner achieved a season’s best placing of third ahead of teammate Owen Dearman in the Under-15s.

Johann Sanseau and Byron Johal (sixth overall) finished 11th and 12th respectively in the Under-13 Boys competition with Caitlin Johal and Yasmin Basil taking part in the Girls Under-13s race and Rob Swann led home Lewis Clark in the boys Under-11s event.