Seventeen juniors from Watford Water Polo Club including four goalkeepers have been selected for Great Britain’s Talent Squads for 2014.

The promising players have been picked for the 1997 to 2000 age groups and will now be enrolled on the Talent Development programme to prepare them for international competition.

The four Watford goalkeepers are Pete Pickford (1997), Karen Basu (1998), Max Kohler (1999) and Aril Pandya (2000).

The other players in the 2000 age group are Charles Smith, Jarryd Myburgh, Joseph Gardner-White, Thushira Kumarage, Will Eggleton, Paras Shah and Alex Jones.

The 1999 age group saw Louis Walocheck picked in the boys and Izzy Dean selected in the girls.

The 1998 players chosen are Hamish Hudson, Paul Botje, Sam Carling and Jack Pickford who has also made it into Great Britain’s Under-19s squad.

The youngsters will be given access to quality coaching, education schemes and sports science as they look to progress to the World Class Development Programme.