Almen Abdi was the winner of the Watford Observer Player of the Season last year but who will follow the midfielder and become the 42nd holder of the prestigious honour?

It is again time for you to help decide as, in association with Watford FC, we begin our annual search to find the Hornets’ top player of the Championship season.

For the first time since Tommy Smith lifted the award in 2008 due to subsequent winners leaving Vicarage Road, Abdi has the opportunity to retain the trophy. That is unlikely due to the midfielder’s injury-ravaged campaign. Troy Deeney, who has finished third in each of the last two seasons, has the opportunity to improve on that position while Marco Cassetti and Lloyd Doyley were also voted into the top six 12 months ago.

To cast your Player of the Season vote, click here.

This is also the medium through which you can help select the Goal of the Season from the 13 shortlisted nominations.

Cristian Battocchio won the award last year for applying the finish to the wonderful team move against Huddersfield Town and the midfielder leads the nominations this time around with three goals shortlisted. Top scorer Deeney has two goals in contention, as do Ikechi Anya and Lewis McGugan.

A system of one person, one vote will again be strictly enforced and votes received without an accompanying name, address and phone number will not be counted.

As is tradition – and via a form for practical reasons – the views of the travelling fans will be canvassed on the coaches to Millwall on Saturday, April 12, along with the players, before the winners are announced at the club’s awards dinner on Sunday, May 4.

When you vote, please use the Goal of the Season identification letter to assist with counting and the deadline for voting in both categories is midnight on April 12.