As part of the Football League's 125th anniversary celebrations, supporters of every Football League club were invited to vote for their club's greatest player, manager, captain and season.

The shortlists for each club were compiled from date submitted by Football League clubs, collected from fans via social media.

Supporters submitted their suggestions to their respective clubs on Twitter, or by using pre-determined hashtags for each category.

Unsurprisingly, Watford's all-time top-scorer Luther Blissett was voted as the Hornets' best ever player, taking 55 per cent of the vote.

The England international scored 148 Football League goals for the Hornets across two spells.

Winger John Barnes came second to Blissett with 37 per cent of supporters' votes.

Striker Tommy Mooney completed the top three with five per cent of the vote.

Nigel Gibbs and Tony Coton rounded off the top five.

In the greatest manager category there was another inevitable winner in Graham Taylor, who took a whopping 87 per cent of the vote.

The former England manager took the club from the old Fourth Division into Europe via Division One and and FA Cup Final appearance in his first spell.

Taylor returned in 1997 and oversaw back-to-back promotions, guiding the Hornets into the Premier League for the first time in their history.

Perhaps more of a surprise was the identity of the runner-up, Aidy Boothroyd, who landed six per cent of votes.

The current England Under-20 coach left Vicarage Road under a cloud in 2008, but not before delivering a shock promotion to the Premier League and an FA Cup semi-final.

Ron Burgess - who guided the club to their first promotion in 1960 - came third.

Ken Furphy and Ray Lewington came fourth and fifth respectively.

John McClelland was the runaway winner in the greatest captain category, claiming 41 per cent of the vote.

The Belfast-born centre-half signed for the Hornets from Rangers in 1984 and spent five successful years in WD18 before returning for a brief loan stint in 1990.

Runner-up to McClelland was Neil Cox, who wore the armband between 2002 and 2004, one of the more turbulent periods in the club's recent history.

Keith Eddy, captain under Furphy in the 1960s and early 1970s came third.

Robert Page was fourth and Gavin Mahon fifth.

There was another clear-cut winner in the greatest season category, with the 1982/1983 season finishing top with 60 per cent of the vote.

Under Taylor the Hornets finished the '82/83 season second to Liverpool in Division One and qualifying for Europe for the first time.

The following season - 1983/84 - was second with 22 per cent of the vote, as the Hornets thrilled in Europe and reached their first and only FA Cup Final.

Another season which ended in a trip to Wembley under Taylor came third, the 1998/99 season, which saw Watford beat Bolton Wanderers in unforgettable fashion to reach the Premier League.

The 1968/69 and 1959/60 seasons came out fourth and fifth.

Greatest captain:

1. John McClelland - 41%

2. Neil Cox - 17%

3. Keith Eddy - 15%

4. Robert Page - 14%

5. Gavin Mahon - 13%

Greatest player:

1. Luther Blissett - 55%

2. John Barnes - 37%

3. Tommy Mooney - 5%

4. Nigel Gibbs - 2%

5. Tony Coton - 1%

Best season:

1. 1982/83 - 60%

2. 1983/84 - 22%

3. 1998/99 - 15%

4. 1968/69 - 2%

5. 1959/60 - 1%

Greatest manager:

1. Graham Taylor - 87%

2. Aidy Boothroyd - 6%

3. Ron Burgess - 4%

4. Ken Furphy - 2% 

5. Ray Lewington - 1%