The voting for the Watford Observer Player of the Season was closely run between the two leading contenders for a long period but a small shift in voting in the final week proved decisive and the 42nd recipient of the prestigious trophy will be revealed this weekend.

Hornets fans will get to see the trophy presented shortly before the kick-off of Watford’s final home game of the season at home to Huddersfield Town tomorrow before it is re-presented at the club’s annual awards dinner the following day.

The closeness of the voting was reflected among the three groups – the players, the away supporters and those who had their say online – but all were agreed over who should succeed Almen Abdi and join some of the most famous names in the club’s history in winning the award.

There was no such unanimity in the polling for the Goal of the Season. This was one of the closest battles for the best goal of the campaign for a number of years as the winner received only 130 more points than the runner-up.

Player of the Season (Watford Observer Trophy)

1. 2,155 voting points

2. 1,760

3. 601

4. 519

5. 395

6. Daniel Tozser – 190

7. Cristian Battocchio – 151

8. Lloyd Doyley – 142

9. Marco Cassetti

10. Sean Murray.

Goal of the Season

1. 872 voting points

2. 742

3. 667

4. 549

5. 541

6. Lewis McGugan at home to Derby County – 420

7. Cristian Battocchio at home to Barnsley – 397

8. Cristian Battocchio at home to Bournemouth (Capital One Cup) – 390

9. Cristian Battocchio at home to Blackburn Rovers – 389

10. Troy Deeney’s second at home to Bournemouth – 385.