Watford will open the new Premier League season at home to potential title-chasers Liverpool.

The fixtures for the new campaign have been released this morning and the revealed the Hornets will take on Jurgen Klopp’s men on August 12 at Vicarage Road.

The game will act as a grudge match for Klopp, facing new Watford head coach Marco Silva for the first time since the Reds were turned over by his Hull City side at the KCOM Stadium in February.

Watford's away season will then begin at Bournemouth the following weekend, having not won on the South Coast since the two met in then Division Two back in 1997.

Premier League newboys Brighton and Hove Albion will then round off August at Vicarage Road, in what is, on paper, a kinder start than the Hornets were awarded last season.

Manchester City are the second title challengers to travel to Vicarage Road, playing the Hornets on September 16, before Silva's charges take on Arsenal (H) and Chelsea (A) in successive weekends, on October 14 and 21 respectively.

A busy December, including a possible nine games in 31 days, includes long away trips to Burnley and Manchester City, the latter on New Year's Day, as well as a home game with Tottenham Hotspur on December 2.

Former champions Leicester City will visit Vicarage Road on Boxing Day, with a second successive home game following against Swansea City on December 30.

The Hornets' four midweek games will begin with Manchester United travelling to Hertfordshire on Tuesday, November 28, before a short journey to Crystal Palace on December 12.

Following Leicester's Tuesday trip to the Vic, Watford will also face the long trek to Stoke City on a cold January night for the second year in succession - with the fixture pencilled in for January 31.

Champions Chelsea will then visit the Vic on February 3, while a punishing March sees Watford travel to Arsenal on March 10 before visiting Liverpool seven days later.

A guaranteed trip to Wembley to face Tottenham is provisionally in the calendar for April 28.

Newcastle United will finish off the Hornets' home campaign on the penultimate weekend of the year, before Silva's men end the 2017/18 season at Old Trafford against the formidable machine of Jose Mourinho's Manchester United.

Full provisional fixture list below (all kick-off times 3pm unless stated)

August 2017

Sat 12: Liverpool H

Sat 19: Bournemouth A

Sat 26: Brighton H

September 2017

Sat 9: Southampton A

Sat 16: Manchester City H

Sat 23: Swansea City A

Sat 30: West Brom A

October 2017

Sat 14: Arsenal H

Sat 21: Chelsea A

Sat 28: Stoke City H

November 2017

Sat 4: Everton A

Sat 18: West Ham H

Sat 25: Newcastle A

Tue 28 7.45pm: Manchester United H

December 2017

Sat 2: Tottenham H

Sat 9: Burnley A

Tue 12 7.45pm: Crystal Palace A

Sat 16: Huddersfield Town H

Sat 23: Brighton A

Tue 26: Leicester City H

Sat 30: Swansea City H

January 2018

Mon 1: Manchester City A

Sat 13: Southampton H

Sat 20: Leicester City A

Wed 31 7.45pm: Stoke City A

February 2018

Sat 3: Chelsea H

Sat 10: West Ham A

Sat 24: Everton H

March 2018

Sat 3: West Brom H

Sat 10: Arsenal A

Sat 17: Liverpool A

Sat 31: Bournemouth H

April 2018

Sat 7: Burnley H

Sat 14: Huddersfield Town A

Sat 21: Crystal Palace H

Sat 28: Tottenham A

May 2018

Sat 5: Newcastle United H

Sun 13: Manchester United A