The new cricket season will soon be underway and our search for the 2017 Watford Observer Fourteen14 knockout champions starts today.

The Watford Observer Fourteen14 has long since been established as the premier limited overs event in the area and the current Shield holders are West Herts, who will be seeking a tenth victory in the competition, subject to their entry being received.

Only two of the teams who enter will have the opportunity to battle it out for the main prize, but silverware is also up for grabs in the Plate, which Bushey won for a first time last summer. As in the previous 14 years since its inception, eight teams will participate in this competition, which will run parallel to the latter stages of the Shield.

The competition rules are largely unchanged from last year, but there have been a few modifications made and so are clubs are asked to read these carefully before entering.

The key competition dates and venues for the latter stages will be publicised in due course, but the Watford Observer wishes to thank West Herts for agreeing to host the Shield final. This is due to be played on Wednesday, July 5.

This year's Entry form 2017.pdf is here.

Download a Squad list 2017.pdf here.

The Rules 2017.pdf are here.

Entries close on Friday, April 14.