The full list of Watford's Championship opponents for next season has been decided after Fulham beat Brentford in the play-off final and Wigan Athletic failed with their appeal to get a 12-point deduction for going into administration overturned.

Preparation for the upcoming campaign is well underway with just over five weeks remaining before action resumes once again.

The Hornets are in talks with at least two potential head coaches, while incomings and outgoings are to be expected soon, as the club looks to build a squad capable of returning to the Premier League.

Watford Observer:

Standing in their way will be promotion hopefuls Brentford, whose push to reach the Premier League this season fell just short with defeat to Fulham in the play-off finals last night.

While it remains to be seen if they can hold onto their prize assets or not, they should be seen as a main candidate to mount a serious challenge for promotion once again.

At the other end of the table, Wigan Athletic's relegation to League One has been confirmed after their 12-point deduction was confirmed.

An EFL statement confirmed: "An independent arbitration panel has ruled that Wigan Athletic's 12-point deduction for entering administration last month will stand after dismissing the club's appeal against the sporting sanction.

"The decision of the arbitration panel is final and legally binding.

"The reason for this approach was due to the administration taking place after the fourth Thursday in March."

Fixtures against the two other promoted teams that year – Bournemouth and Norwich City – are again on the agenda next season after their Premier League stays also came to an end, while the likes of Derby County, Nottingham Forest and Reading have provided regular second tier opposition in the past decade.

One fixture next season that needs no introduction is a first derby meeting with Luton Town since the 2005/06 season when goals from Darius Henderson and Malky Mackay secured a 2-1 victory at Kenilworth Road, before the sides drew 1-1 at Vicarage Road when Marlon King was on target for Aidy Boothroyd’s men.

Another derby day that stands out will be a first Herts-Bucks clash between Watford and Wycombe Wanderers since 1997 after Gareth Ainsworth’s side secured a historic first promotion to the second tier with a 2-1 play-off victory over Oxford United earlier this month.

The final list of Championship teams for next season is as follows:


Birmingham City

Blackburn Rovers



Bristol City

Cardiff City

Coventry City

Derby County

Huddersfield Town

Luton Town



Norwich City

Nottingham Forest

Preston North End

Queens Park Rangers


Rotherham United

Sheffield Wednesday

Stoke City

Swansea City


Wycombe Wanderers