The controversial Internal Market Bill which has caused a political divide as it breaches part of the Government’s own Brexit withdrawal agreement has cleared its first hurdle.

Despite many senior Tories being against the Bill, Boris Johnson’s plan to use domestic law to supersede elements of the Withdrawal Agreement he signed with Brussels passed its second reading by 340 to 263 – a Government majority of 77.

What does the Bill mean?

The Bill aims to bring forward legislation that will enshrine “mutual recognition and non-discrimination”.

It means any good or services which can be sold in one part of the UK, can be sold in all four nations of the UK.

There would be UK wide trading rules and regulations, and one part of the UK cannot benefit more so than another.

But it remains controversial as it contradicts the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement and international law, since it allows ministers to “disapply” previous rules.

The Prime Minister said the legislation was necessary to prevent the EU taking an “extreme and unreasonable” interpretation of the provisions in the Withdrawal Agreement relating to Northern Ireland.

He said some in Brussels were now threatening to block UK agri-food exports to the EU and to insist on tariffs on all goods moving to Northern Ireland from the rest of the UK.

Who voted for the Bill?

Despite some attempts to breach the Bill, it overcame the first hurdle.

Here is a breakdown on what some MPs from Hertfordshire, north London, east London and west Essex have voted.


• Dean Russell, Watford, For

• Gagan Mohindra, South West Hertfordshire, For

• Oliver Dowden, Hertsmere, For

• Sir Mike Penning, Hemel Hempstead, For

• Daisy Cooper, St Albans, Against

• Bim Afolami, Hitchin and Harpenden, For

North London

• Gareth Thomas, Harrow West – Against

• Bob Blackman, Harrow East, For

• David Simmonds, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner, For

• Matthew Offord, Hendon, For

• Mike Freer, Finchley and Golders Green, For

• Catherine West, Hornsey and Wood Green, Against

• David Lammy, Tottenham, Against

• Feryal Clark, Enfield North, Against

• Bambos Charalambous, Enfield Southgate, Against*

East London / west Essex

• Robert Halfon, Harlow, For

• Dame Eleanor Laing, Epping Forest – No vote

• Alex Burghart, Brentwood and Ongar, For

• Wes Streeting, Ilford North, Against

• Sam Tarry, Ilford South, Against


* Teller for the division. Not counted in the totals of those voting for or against the motion