Dorothy Thornhill has been re-elected as Mayor of Watford.

The second ballot count further increased Mayor Thornhill's total, leaving her with 23,429 votes, at 67 per cent.

Conservative candidate Stephen Johnson was overwhelmed in both counts, ending up with 11,508 votes after the second choices of the remaining ballots were counted.

The result sees Mayor Thornhill enter her third term, in which she says she is keen to work closely with Conservative MP Richard Harrington who was elected in last night's parliamentary elections.

Mayor Thornhill received almost four times as many second preference votes as Mr Johnson, after Labour candidate Nigel Bell and Green party candidate Alex MacGregor Mason were eliminated in the first count.