Almen Abdi has tonight been crowned Watford’s Player of the Season at the club’s annual awards dinner at Shendish Manor Hotel.

The Swiss international, who scored his 12th goal of the season in yesterday’s 2-1 defeat to Leeds United that ended his side’s hopes of automatic promotion, fought off stiff competition from runner-up Matej Vydra and Troy Deeney, who came third in the annual poll.

Votes were cast by visitors to this website, Hornets away fans on the coaches to Peterborough United and the players and once they had all been added up, Nathaniel Chalobah finished fourth, while Marco Cassetti came fifth.

Abdi becomes the 41st recipient of the prestigious Watford Observer Trophy since it was first presented to Andy Rankin in 1973, and now joins some of the club’s most famous names on the roll of honour.

The 26-year-old also featured prominently in the voting for Goal of the Season, with his free-kicks at Wolverhampton Wanderers and Charlton Athletic coming fourth and fifth respectively.

But while the voting for the Hornets’ top player was relatively close compared to recent seasons, there was a runaway winner of the best goal and it went to Cristian Battocchio for rounding off a stunning team move in the home win over Huddersfield Town.

Championship Player of the Season Vydra was runner-up again, for his superb burst of acceleration and finish to a memorable counter-attack in the 3-1 victory at Brighton & Hove Albion, while Deeney again narrowly missed out on the runner-up spot for his match-winner at Hull City.

However, the striker did well to feature so prominently as the goal was scored after the original shortlist was drawn up and was added almost a week after voting had opened.

A total of eight awards were presented at Shendish Manor and although Tommie Hoban has finished the season on the sidelines with injury, he capped a fine campaign by being named Young Player of the Season.

Vydra was named Players' Player, while Gianfranco Zola selected the win at Brighton as his Team Performance of the Year.

Watford's 1999 play-off winning skipper Robert Page became the latest star of yesteryear to be inducted into the club's Hall of Fame, devoted fan Frances Lynn was the recipient of the Supporter of the Season and Fernando Forestieri was named the club's Community Ambassador.

Player of the Season (Watford Observer Trophy)

1. Almen Abdi - 2,710 voting points

2. Matej Vydra - 2,208

3. Troy Deeney - 2,150

4. Nathaniel Chalobah - 848

5. Marco Cassetti - 569

6. Lloyd Doyley – 326

7. Fernando Forestieri – 121

8. Joel Ekstrand

9. Manuel Almunia

10. Cristian Battocchio

Goal of the Season

1. Cristian Battocchio at home to Huddersfield Town - 3,524 voting points

2. Matej Vydra’s second at Brighton & Hove Albion - 1,463

3. Troy Deeney at Hull City - 1,364

4. Almen Abdi at Wolverhampton Wanderers - 452

5. Almen Abdi at Charlton Athletic - 435

6. Mark Yeates at Sheffield Wednesday – 370

7. Matej Vydra at home to Birmingham City - 276

8. Matej Vydra’s first at Leeds United – 245

9. Fernando Forestieri at Huddersfield Town – 169

10. Ikechi Anya at home to Bradford City (Carling Cup) – 148

Supporter of the Season

Frances Lynn

Young Player of the Season

Tommie Hoban

Community Ambassador of the Season

Fernando Forestieri

Hall of Fame Award

Robert Page

Team Performance of the Season

Brighton & Hove Albion (away)

Players' Player of the Season

Matej Vydra