Watford have confirmed the eight professionals who will be released by the club once their contracts have run out at the end of this month.

Mark Yeates, Prince Buaben, Stephen McGinn, Chris Iwelumo – who has already agreed a move to Scunthorpe United – Piero Mingoia, Jack Bonham, Aaron Tumwa and Stephan Hamilton-Forbes will all leave Vicarage Road.

Manuel Almunia, Jonathan Bond, Fitz Hall, Lloyd Doyley and John Eustace are also out of contract this summer but have not been released, which indicates the club are keen to retain those players.

Buaben has tonight tweeted: "Just wanna thank Watford FC & also the fans. You Hornsss been amazing and I enjoyed my time. Unfortunately things change and we got to move on. Wishing WFC the best of luck in the future."

One player who has signed a professional contract is second-year scholar Luke O’Nien, who will join Bernard Mensah from his age group in signing a pro deal with the Hornets.

The 18-year-old midfielder from Hemel Hempstead joined the club at Under-9 level and has signed a one-year professional contract.

Fellow second-year scholars Austin Eaton, Kamaron English and Jordan Willmore will all leave the club.

Matt Bevans departs after being given an extra season with the club following a knee injury during his scholarship and fellow defender Kyle Connolly, who joined the scholarship later than the rest of his age group, and goalkeeper Berti Schotterl will also leave.

Like Bevans, Jack Westlake has been handed an extra six-months with the club after a cruciate ligament injury.