Sun Postal Sports celebrated the biggest day in their history on Saturday as they were crowned champions of Spartan South Midlands League Division One.

With promotion already secured thanks to a 3-1 win at FC Broxbourne Borough on Thursday, Sun needed just a point from their final two games to ensure they went up as title winners.

They did it in style, scoring three unanswered second-half goals to beat Baldock Town 3-0 at Bellmount Wood Avenue. Danny Tomkins, Ashley Lewis and Craig Lynskey struck the crucial goals.

The league title is the club's first piece of senior silverware since the 1995 Aubrey Cup win.

“It's been an incredible season," said manager Paul Hobbs. “The club wasn't going anywhere and the committee, management and players have turned it around.

"I would have laughed if you said we would win the title at the start of the season. It was a new group of players but there are no superstars in the team, they all play for each other and we've built an amazing team spirit."

Hobbs pointed to the fact Sun coped for 13 games without the injured James Armstrong, who has scored 38 times in all competitions.

They also lost Lewis, who Hobbs feels is the best player in the league, for five games through suspension and have been without 13-goal Nathan Pooley for the run-in.

Nine of their last ten games have been against sides in the top eight but they have only dropped two points out of the last 30.

Sun go into their final game of the season against Bedford tomorrow with a remarkable 25-match unbeaten record.

Lewis, Armstrong, Pooley, Ross Hampton and Andy Hopping look to have all played for the last time this season after picking up campaign-ending injuries. Bedford are vying with Kings Langley for the second promotion spot.

Watford Observer: Sun Postal Sports management team

There was double cause for celebration as the club's Reserves, who have had three managers this season, clinched promotion to Reserve Division Two of the same league.

Sun held their presentation evening on Saturday and Gary Wallace was named the manager's Player of the Year.

Tomkins clinched the supporters' Player of the Year honour while Lewis was named the players' Player of the Year. Sean Foster scooped both of the Reserve team awards.

Above: Sun celebrate their title win