JAY DeMERIT, Ben Foster, Dan Shittu, Tommy Smith and Jordan Stewart have emerged as among the front-runners for the Watford Observer Player of the Season trophy following a fantastic response to the launch of online voting for this season's Watford FC awards.

Around 600 votes have already been received since the Watford FC Awards section was opened at www.watfordobserver.co.uk/sport last week, and with more than a week still to go before the entry deadline on Monday, April 23 it seems inevitable that a record number of fans will have their say in who is named the Hornets' top player and who succeeds Chris Eagles as the recipient of the Goal of the Season accolade.

The travelling fans were canvassed for their opinions on the way to Middlesbrough on Saturday and their votes will be counted shortly, while the views of the players are currently being gathered.

A system of one person, one vote is being utilised and is being strictly enforced.

Anonymous votes received without an accompanying name, address and phone number will not be accepted.

When you vote, either online or by using the printed coupon in this week's Watford Observer, please use the identification letter for Goal of the Season to assist with counting.