The Watford Observer Fourteen14 knockout cricket competition was first contested in 1969 but who be the champions in this 50th anniversary year? The search for the next winners begins today.

The competition has long been established as the premier limited overs event in the area and the current Shield holders are Kings Langley, who will be seeking a third victory in the competition, subject to their entry being received.

Only two of the teams who enter will have the opportunity to battle it out for the main prize, but silverware is also up for grabs in the Plate, which Langleybury won for a first time last summer. As in the previous 14 years since its inception, eight teams will participate in this competition, which will run parallel to the latter stages of the Shield.

The competition rules are largely unchanged from last year, but there have been a few modifications made and so are clubs are asked to read these carefully before entering.

The cost of entering has increased by £5 to £45 per team. This is the first rise for a number of years but the extra money will be used to mark the 50th anniversary of the competition.

The key competition dates and venues for the latter stages will be publicised in due course but the deadline for entries is Monday, April 16.

This year's Entry form 2018.pdf is here.

This year's Rules 2018.pdf are here.

Download a Squad list 2018.pdf here.