The summer transfer window for Premier League clubs will open on 16 May 2019, it has been announced.

Clubs are permitted to agree deals for the acquisition of players prior to that date but, in the case of a domestic transfer, the paperwork cannot be processed until May 16.

However, the transfer of players from overseas can only take place once the FIFA Transfer Matching System (TMS) opens on June 11.

This means that any international transfers can be agreed, but cannot be processed until the FIFA TMS transfer window opens.

As agreed by the clubs in November 2018, the Premier League summer transfer window will close at 17:00 BST on Thursday, August 8.

However, clubs will still have the ability to sell or loan players to other leagues whose transfer windows are open after that date, such as to clubs in League One and Two, whose window will be open to 17:00 BST on September 2.

The Football League has voted to mirror the closing date and time for the Premier League summer 2019 transfer window for clubs in the Championship only.