Carlos Sanchez and Achraf Lazaar have both been released by Watford, while goalkeeper Rob Elliot is in negotiations over a new deal.

All three arrived as free agents on short-term deals before the end of last season.

Sanchez made nine appearances following his arrival, all but one of which came in wins for Watford, while Lazaar made five appearances but struggled to impress, particularly in the 1-0 defeat away at Luton when he was used as a late replacement for the unwell Adam Masina.

Action Images

Action Images

Both players will now have to look for a new club while Elliot, who failed to get any game time after joining, looks likely to stay, with the club confirming they are in talks over a new contract.

The Hornets have also announced as part of their released and retained list that Jerome Sinclair, who spent last season on loan at CSKA Sofia after featuring in EFL cup matches against Oxford and Newport, has also been released alongside Mamadou M’Baye.

Elsewhere, one year deals have been offered to academy players Dan Phillips, Kamil Conteh, Bosun Lawal, Dom Hutchinson, JJ McKiernan, Dante Baptiste and Adam Parkes.

Kane Crichlow's contract has also been extended by a year.

Jack Broome, Jack Burchell, Andi Janjeva and Jordan Harrison have been retained as third-year scholars in the academy while Ryan Andrews, Shaq Forde, Will Hall, Damani Hunter, Adian Manning, Alfie Marriott, Freddie Moriarty, Enoch Muwonge, Ben Smith, Tiago Cukur, George Langston, Sonny Blu Lo-Everton, Derek Agyakwa, Maurizio Pochettino, Myles Roberts, Ryan Cassidy, Joseph Hungbo and Henry Wise all remain under contract until next summer.

There are 13 academy players who have been released, including Mitchel Bergkamp, Sam Dalby and Bayli Spencer-Adams.

They depart alongside Mac Chisholm, Thomas Horsewood, Max Thompson, Phoenix Patterson, Maxwell Statham, Mason Barrett, Harry Forster, Teddy Perkins, Toby Stevenson, and Henry Ochieng.