Conservatives held on to control of Dacorum Borough Council - but with the loss of 14 seats to the Liberal Democrats.

The borough mirrored results across the country, with Tories and Labour losing votes apparently because of voters' frustration over the lack of progress on Brexit.

The Conservatives held on to 31 seats, including the wards of Kings Langley and Bovingdon, Flaunden & Chipperfield.

But the Lib Dems picked up 19 seats, a resurgence after they won just five in 2015 in the wake of the national party going into coalition with the Conservatives.

Labour lost both the seats on the borough council they previously held.

Independent candidate Jan Maddern retained her Nash Mills seat with 600 votes to her nearest challenger Conservative Rene De Silva's 156..

The results in the Watford Observer circulation area are:

Bovingdon, Flaunden & Chipperfield

Gbola Adeleke Conservative 1075 elected

Graham Barrett Conservative 1311 elected

Wiebke Carr Green 671

Denise Rance Liberal Democrats 445

Stewart Riddick Conservative 1196 elected

Malcolm Rogers Liberal Democrats 365

Beth Townsend Liberal Democrats 415

Gerard Wilkinson Labour 238

Kings Langley

Alan Anderson Conservative 745 elected

John Collisson Labour 140

Dominic Hook Labour 131

Alan Johnson Conservative 738 elected

Ashley Lawrence Green 394

Ian Senior Liberal Democrats 285

Faith Thornhill Liberal Democrats 166