It is approaching 20 years since this pub was demolished but it's original name remains part of Watford due to the block of flats that now stands in its place.

The Watford Observer has again teamed up with Watford Museum and is delighted to showcase some pictures from its archive - this week remembering a pub that was probably named after a horse-drawn coach service between the town and London.

The museum's volunteer archivist Christine Orchard said: "This pub on the corner of Queens Road and Queens Place was originally called the Tantivy and was built about 1873 for Frederick Sedgwick.

"In the same year, Sedgwick revived an old-fashioned method of transport by running a four-horse coach service, named 'Tantivy', between Watford and Piccadilly in London.

"A Watford Observer reader wrote to the editor stating that the new service would be 'an agreeable change now and then for the hard, thumping, shaking, iron-horse (the iron-horse being the train).'

"It is believed Sedgwick gave his new pub this name as a celebration of the service. However, the coach never ran from here but from the Rose and Crown in the High Street.

"The pub's name has changed over the years. In this photograph from the early 1900s it had become the Victoria Tavern. When Sedgwick's were bought out by Benskins in 1923, the pub retained the name.

"Later the 'Tantivy' name was revived before finally it became the New Victoria. Today a block of flats stands in its place but the original name survives as Tantivy Court."

Watford Museum has now reopened to the public. Admission is free but book first – call 01923 232297 or email For more information, visit