Owen Farrell notched 11 out of 11 penalties as Saracens came from behind to claim a dramatic 37-28 victory over Racing Metro in the Heineken Cup.

The win means Mark McCall's team remain top of Pool One, six points ahead of Racing, knowing that if they beat Edinburgh in the final round they will qualify to the knockout stages.

Racing started brightly and put on a fluid attacking display in the first half.

David Strettle suffered a knock to his head which saw the game stopped for nearly ten minutes and the winger replaced.

But after the match restarted it was the hosts who took advantage as Juan Martin Fernandez sold a brilliant dummy before feeding Luc Ducalcon to go over for the first try of the contest.

Sebastien Descons added the extras but a Farrell penalty soon after reduced the deficit to 7-3.

The French team continued to exert control over proceedings though and their attacking intent was rewarded as Juan Imhoff sprinted over the white line twice in quick succession, the second of which was converted by Descons.

Racing could have had the game wrapped up before half time but three more Farrell penalties before the break, and one more from Descons, kept Saracens well in the match at 25-18.

The second half was a different story altogether though as Chris Wyles went over within two minutes of the restart and with Farrell converting, and then adding three more points from the tee, the Men in Black found themselves 28-25 in front, despite losing Chris Ashton to the sin bin.

Two more penalties, one for each side, meant Saracens had a three-point lead just after the hour mark but Farrell was in sparkling form and another kick from the young number ten extended the visitors' advantage to six.

Racing pushed hard for a try right up to the final whistle but Sarries held firm and Farrell confirmed the victory with a superb long-range penalty with the last kick of the match.

Racing Metro: 15 Benjamin Fall; 14 Juan Imhoff, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Fabrice Estebanez, 11 Sereli Bobo; 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Sebastien Descons; 1 Eddy Ben Arous, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 4 Francois van der Merwe, 5 Jone Qovu Nailiko, 6 Antoine Batut, 7 Alvaro Galindo, 8 Masi Matadigo

Replacements: 16 Benjamin Noirot, 17 Julien Brugnaut, 18 Benjamin Sa, 19 Fabrice Metz, 20 Camille Gerondeau, 21 Jacques Cronje, 22 Mathieu Belie, 23 Olly Barkley.

Saracens: 15 Chris Wyles; 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Joel Tomkins, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 David Strettle; 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 1 Rhys Gill, 2 Schalk Brits, 3 Matt Stevens, 4 Steve Borthwick, 5 Mouritz Botha, 6 Kelly Brown, 7 Will Fraser, 8 Ernst Joubert.

Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 George Kruis, 20 Nick Fenton-Wells, 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Charlie Hodgson, 23 Duncan Taylor.