Watford midfielder Sean Murray has been named Republic of Ireland Under-21 Player of the Year.

The 20-year-old, who joined the Hornets academy aged nine, was picked ahead of fellow nominees Shane Duffy and Aiden O'Brien.

Murray has eight caps for the Under-21 team and made an instant impact on his debut with an impressive goal against Italy in September 2012.

Former winners of the award include Robbie Brady, Seamus Coleman, Kevin Doyle and Kevin Kilbane.