Troy Deeney has capped a triumphant season by retaining the prestigious Watford Observer Player of the Season trophy.

The captain led by example from the front to guide the Hornets to promotion to the Premier League and finished the season as top scorer with 21 goals, becoming the first player in the club’s history to net 20 or more in three consecutive campaigns.

The 26-year-old received the honour at the club's awards night at Shendish Manor. He is the ninth different player to win the Player of the Season twice in the 43-year history of the awards and becomes the fourth member of an elite club to retain it, following Wilf Rostron (1983 and 1984), Tony Coton (1986 and 1987) and Tommy Smith (2008 and 2009).

The former Walsall front man, who is now equal seventh on Watford's all-time scorers' list, emerged as the comfortable winner after the votes cast by fans, the away supporters on the coaches to Nottingham Forest and the players had all been counted, polling 3,151 voting points.

A tightly-fought battle for the runners-up spot saw Heurelho Gomes pip Odion Ighalo into second, while Craig Cathcart’s consistent campaign saw him finish fourth.

Almen Abdi, who was voted top player in 2013, came fifth but he took the Goal of the Season honour for his superb curling finish in the 5-0 win at Fulham.

Matej Vydra’s rocket from the edge of the penalty area at home to Brentford was voted second while another memorable effort, Adlene Guedioura’s long-range strike at Cardiff City, claimed third.

Six other awards honours also handed out at the awards and Deeney did the double as he also received the Players' Player accolade, while Tommie Hoban was named Young Player of the Season.

The Community Ambassador honour went to Gomes and Roy Moore, the driving force behind the The 1881 movement, was a popular winner of Supporter of the Season.

Watford's 2-0 home win over Middlesbrough claimed the Team Performance honour and Graham Taylor and Tony Coton were in attendance to make Gary Porter the latest entrant into the club's Hall of Fame.

Player of the Season Top Five

1) Troy Deeney - 3,151 voting points

2) Heurelho Gomes - 1,346

3) Odion Ighalo - 1,292

4) Craig Cathcart - 962

5) Almen Abdi - 276

Goal of the Season Top Five

1) Almen Abdi’s second at Fulham - 2,103 voting points

2) Matej Vydra at home to Brentford - 1,447

3) Adlene Guedioura at Cardiff City - 1,206

4) Almen Abdi at Bolton Wanderers - 919

5) Fernando Forestieri’s second at home to Leeds United - 294