THE players, fans and travelling supporters are united in who will be the 35th recipient of the Watford Observer Player of the Season Trophy at The Grove on Monday.

The selection of the outstanding performer of the Hornets campaign was not only unanaimous, but also saw the winner receive possibly the most ever votes in the history of the awards. This was undoubtedly due to the successful introduction of online voting which saw a significant increase in the number of Watford fans from across the world have their say.

Although there was some variation in the final positions, all three voting groups were largely unanimous in their top-five choice for the big award to be presented at Monday's end-of-season dinner, with Jay DeMerit, who was fourth last season, and Ben Foster, who came sixth 12 months ago, joining Hameur Bouazza, Dan Shittu and Jordan Stewart at the top of the standings.

Unusually though, there was no such unanimity in the voting for Goal of the Season, but this was due to the time when the respective groups cast their votes and the impact Gavin Mahon's thunderbolt against Portsmouth had on selections. However, those factors did not prevent an easy winner emerging.

Player of the Season (Watford Observer Trophy)

1 2,257

2 791

3 596

4 Dan Shittu 568

5 Jordan Stewart 432

6 Tommy Smith 313

7 Darius Henderson

8 Gavin Mahon

9 Adrian Mariappa

10 Damien Francis

Goal of the Season

1 1,812

2 1,057

3 652

4 Anthony McNamee's overhead kick at West Ham United 367

5 Ashley Young's chest and volley at home to Fulham 245

6 Hameur Bouazza's arrowing shot from a free-kick at Wigan Athletic 235

7 Tommy Smith's turn and shot at home to Arsenal

8 Darius Henderson's penalty at West Ham United

9 Damien Francis' side-footed finish at home to Ipswich Town

10 Damien Francis' volleyed finish at Middlesbrough