Abdoulaye Doucoure has been named in Watford's Premier League squad after his last-gasp loan deal to Lorient fell through last night.

The Frenchman was close to a deal to join the Ligue 1 side but as the move could not be completed in time, he has instead been named in the Hornets' squad with the transfer window now shut.

His inclusion means Brice Dja Djedje, who is yet to feature since his summer move from Marseille, misses out from the 17 overseas players named.

He may require surgery on a recurring foot injury and will be ineligible to feature for Watford in the Premier League until January.

Elsewhere, Giedrius Arlauskis and Juan Carlos Paredes both miss out, while it is confirmed new signing Stefano Okaka, who is included, will take squad number 33.

Under-21 players, including Jerome Sinclair, Kenedy and Isaac Success, have not been registered, as they are allowed to feature without being named in the Hornets' squad.

Watford's Premier League squad in full

1. Heurelho Gomes
3. Miguel Britos
4. Younes Kaboul
5. Sebastian Prodl
6. Adrian Mariappa
7. Nordin Amrabat
9. Troy Deeney
11. Valon Behrami
13. Rene Gilmartin
15. Craig Cathcart
16. Abdoulaye Doucoure
17. Adlene Guedioura
18. Camilo Zuniga
22. Daryl Janmaat
23. Ben Watson
24. Odion Ighalo
25. Jose Holebas
27. Christian Kabasele
29. Etienne Capoue
30. Costel Pantilimon
33. Stefano Okaka
37. Roberto Pereyra