Plenty of UK top-10 rankings were achieved when the British Milers' Club held their annual Grand Prix in Watford at the weekend.

One of the most high-profile winners in Saturday’s event at Woodside Stadium was Jake Wightman.

Since his scarum fracture last August, the European and Commonwealth bronze medallist hasn’t been racing but he made an impressive comeback to competitive action, crossing the line first in 1:45.55 in the men’s 800m A race.

Wightman’s two closest rivals also went sub-1:46, runner-up Charles Da'vall Grice and third-placed Elliot Giles.

Watford's Kyle Langford finished two places further back in 1:46.76, having been involved in an altercation with a track official beforehand for which he later apologised.  

Eight of the 28 races were for men over two laps of the track, with juniors impressing in the B, C and D events.

Oliver Dustin won race B in 1:46.84, followed by Joshua Lay and Alex Botterill. Ben Lee was first across the line in the C 800m and Callum Dodds triumphed in race D, running in 01:49.17.

Sarah McDonald won the women’s 800m in 2:00:15 which saw her move up to second in the UK rankings, like Wightman.

Alexandra Bell and European indoor winner Shelayna Oskan-Clarke finished second and third respectively.

A total of 13 UK top-10 rankings were achieved during the meeting, including Andrew Butchart. He moved to sixth in the 1500m after winning in 3:38.84.

The 5000m specialist finished strongly to beat St Albans James McMurray who finished second in 3:39.02.

In the women A race, Under-23 Danish athlete Anna Moller won in 4:09.15, ahead of Jessica Judd. Despite not winning, Judd’s time of 4:10.74 saw her rise to seventh in the UK standings.

Despite a junior men’s 300m taking place, Under-20 athlete Darragh Mcelhinney emphasised why he was in the A race by winning in an Irish junior record of 8:01.48.

Thomas Keen won the Under-20 race in 8:18.41, with the European junior gold medallist finishing ahead of Max Heyden in a close finish.

Kate Holt triumphed in the women’s 3000m in 09:15.34, with two Under-20 competitors Saskia Millard and Eloise Walker taking second and third.

Somali Olympics participant Mohamed Mohamed easily won the men’s 5000m in 14:07.25. The women’s race was won by Emily Hosker-Thornhill in 15:46.22, which is also in UK top-10 performances.

Chris Perry was first home in the men’s 3000m steeplechase in 08:44.55, ahead of Jayme Rossiter. The women’s race was won by Irish athlete Michelle Finn in 09:51.22.