Watford will start the 2024/25 Championship season with one of their shortest away trips of the campaign when they visit Millwall on the opening day.

The first set of fixtures are due to take place over the weekend of August 10/11, but that could change with Sky still to make their live match selections.

The Hornets visit Luton Town on Saturday, October 19, and then host the Hatters on Saturday, February 22.

(Image: Newsquest)

There is a home game with newly-promoted Portsmouth on Boxing Day, followed by another home game with Cardiff City on December 29.

With Watford then away to QPR on New Year’s Day, the festive fixtures period has been relatively kind to fans.

However, they is very much countered by the midweek away trips the Hornets have been handed.

They will visit Preston on Wednesday, October 2, and travel to Leeds United on Tuesday, October 22.

In early November there are two long away trips in four days as Watford face away games at Sheffield Wednesday (Saturday, November 2) and then Swansea City (Tuesday, November 5).

And before the end of 2024, there is another lengthy midweek journey with the Hornets travelling to Hull City on Wednesday, December 11.

There is another treat in store for away travellers, as Watford visit Sunderland and Middlesbrough on consecutive Saturdays in early February.

The 46 rounds of league matches will take place across 33 weekends, nine midweeks and four Bank Holidays.

The Hornets will end the season at home to Sheffield Wednesday on Saturday May 3, while former head coach Chris Wilder will bring his Sheffield United team to Vicarage Road on Saturday January 4.

Within the next week, television selections will be made in respect of all matches to be played before the end of September.

Following the signing of a new rights agreement between the EFL and Sky Sports, and the launch of Sky Sports+ this August, five matches are due to be shown live in the Championship each weekend.

Before the start of the season, selections will be confirmed for all matches scheduled to be played prior to the end of the third round of the Emirates FA Cup.

The Hornets will learn their opponents in the first round of the Carabao Cup tomorrow (Thursday), with the draw set to take place at 11.30am on Sky Sports News.

Watford have been given ball number 31 in the southern section of the draw, and ties will take place in the week commencing August 12.

Watford's full list of provisional fixtures are:

Sat Aug 10 Millwall A

Wed Aug 14 Carabao Cup One

Sat Aug 17 Stoke City H

Sat Aug 24 Derby County H

Wed Aug 28 Carabao Cup Two

Sat Aug 31 Sheffield United A


Sat Sep 7 International Date

Sat Sep 14 Coventry City H

Wed Sep 18 Carabao Cup Three

Sat Sep 21 Norwich City A

Wed Sep 25 Carabao Cup Three

Sat Sep 28 Sunderland H


Wed Oct 2 Preston North End A

Sat Oct 5 Middlesbrough H

Sat Oct 12 International Date

Sat Oct 19 Luton Town A

Tue Oct 22 Leeds United A

Sat Oct 26 Blackburn Rovers H

Wed Oct 30 Carabao Cup Four


Sat Nov 2 Sheffield Wednesday A Emirates FA Cup 1

Tue Nov 5 Swansea City A

Sat Nov 9 Oxford United H

Sat Nov 16 International Date

Sat Nov 23 Plymouth Argyle A

Tue Nov 26 Bristol City H

Sat Nov 30 Queens Park Rangers H Emirates FA Cup 2


Sat Dec 7 Cardiff City A

Wed Dec 11 Hull City A

Sat Dec 14 West Bromwich Albion H

Wed Dec 18 Carabao Cup Five

Sat Dec 21 Burnley A

Thu Dec 26 Portsmouth H

Sun Dec 29 Cardiff City H


Wed Jan 1 Queens Park Rangers A

Sat Jan 4 Sheffield United H

Wed Jan 8 Carabao Cup Semi-Final (1)

Sat Jan 11 Emirates FA Cup 3

Sat Jan 18 Derby County A

Tue Jan 21 Preston North End H

Sat Jan 25 Coventry City A


Sat Feb 1 Norwich City H

Wed Feb 5 Carabao Cup Semi-Final (2)

Sat Feb 8 Sunderland A Emirates FA Cup 4

Tue Feb 11 Leeds United H

Sat Feb 15 Middlesbrough A

Sat Feb 22 Luton Town H


Sat Mar 1 Stoke City A Emirates FA Cup 5

Sat Mar 8 Millwall H

Wed Mar 12 Swansea City H

Sat Mar 15 Oxford United A

Sun Mar 16 Carabao Cup Final

Sat Mar 22 International Date

Sat Mar 29 Plymouth Argyle H Emirates FA Cup Quarter-Final


Sat Apr 5 Bristol City A

Tue Apr 8 Hull City H

Sat Apr 12 West Bromwich Albion A

Fri Apr 18 Burnley H

Mon Apr 21 Portsmouth A

Sat Apr 26 Blackburn Rovers A Emirates FA Cup Semi-Final


Sat May 3 Sheffield Wednesday H

Sat May 17 Emirates FA Cup Final